Skip navigation

We had eWorld then all the “i” products and now we have “me”, what is the significance?

A good read: WhyMe.

I offer evidence only in my strictly unacademic impressions of the differences between ‘I’ and ‘me’.  For instance, ‘I’ implies activity, a doing and a being of something.  Ideologically, this meshes well with Apple’s provenance as the tool of the artist and its aim to imbue the user with the identity of Unique Creator of Digitial Artifact, of curator and distributor and master of his or her digital hub …. By contrast, ‘me’ implies passivity, an identity of self-evident existence without the burden of activity.  In the ‘me’ model, I exist by the token of my relation to my Contacts and Calendar.  In the ‘I’ model, I exist by the token of my photos, which I sync from my camera in iPhoto and upload to my iDisk.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By A E » Blog Archive » e → i → me on 17 Jun 2008 at 6:19 am

    […] e → i → me We had eWorld then all the “i” products and now we have “me”, what is the significance? A good read: WhyMe. I offer evidence only in my strictly unacademic impressions of the differences between ‘I’ and ‘me’. For instance, ‘I’ implies … […]

Leave a Reply

